tailor made tour

Ask a Question


I accept the Privacy Policy.

Questions & Answers

Hong Kong Geography


Where is Hong Kong?

Hong Kong, as one of the main ports in the world, locates in the north coast line of China. With is unique location, the geography of Hong Kong is consisted of some islands and peninsula area.

Where is Hong Kong


Hong Kong can be divided into three distinct areas:

Hong Kong Island (Victoria)
New Territories (including inland area, Lantau Island and outflying islands)

Hong Kong Map

(Photo by Wiki)



Hong Kong Map

New Territories
Hong Kong Island
West Kowloon
East Kowloon
New Territories East
New Territories West
Central and Western District
Eastern District
Southern District
Wan Chai District
Kowloon City District
Sham Shui Po District
Yau Tsim Mong District
Wong Tai Sin District
Kwun Tong District
Northern District
Sai Kung District
Sha Tin District
Tai Po District
Islands District
Kwai Tsing District
Tsuen Wan District
Tuen Mun District
Yuen Long District

Hong Kong Island 香港岛

Hong Kong Island
Hong Kong Island, with area about 78.4 square meters, is one of the main parts of Hong Kong. Following the area of Lantau Island, it is the second largest island in Hong Kong Special Administration Region.
Hong Kong Island is the earliest developing area since 1842 (the year became a British colony). Before the launching of Victoria Area, Stanley was the political center of Hong Kong Island. And during the early British colonial period, the main dwelling area was Hong Kong Central and Sheung Wan area, this area was also called Victoria area. And the highest peak of Hong Kong Island is Victoria Peak with about 554 meters above the sea level.
Victoria Harbour was the natural boundary between Hong Kong Island and Kowloon Peninsula. And the port was once the trade port for this world’s largest trade fair hub.
► Hong Kong Island mainly areas
Sheung Wan Area
Central Area
Wanchai Area
Causeway Bay Area
Victoria Peak·Repulse Bay Area

Kowloon Peninsula 九龙半岛

Kowloon, geographical named Kowloon Peninsula, is the other main part of Hong Kong municipal area (the other part is Hong Kong Island). Surrounded by Victoria Harbour in east, south, and west directions, it was once divided into two parts namely “Kowloon” (the south part of Jiexian Street) and “New Kowloon” (the north of Jiexian Street and south of Shizi Mountain). Till now, the New Kowloon word is meaningless because there is no need to have a specified colonic boundary nowadays. 
As another important commercial part of Hong Kong, the most prosperous areas will be Tsim Sha Tsui, Yau Ma Tei and Mong Kok. The snacks streets, shopping centers, as well as luxury hotels are all can be found in Kowloon.
Kowloon Peninsula mainly areas
Tsim Sha Tsui area
Jotun·Yau Ma Tei area
Mongkok·Sham Shui Po area
Wong Tai Sin Temple·Hung Hom area

New Territories 新界

New Territories
New Territories is one of the three parts of Hong Kong. The name of this area comes from the Terms in British colonic period. Since 1898 Jun 9th, a term between British and Qing Dynasty governments was signed with a content that the north part from Kowloon boundary to the north part of Shenzhen River would be rented by British government for 99 years. During that moment, this part of area had no name thus British people called it New Territories which meaned new land. New Territories is located in the northern Hong Kong. It is the largest area part with about 975.1 square kilometers, covering a proportion of 92%.
New Territories mainly area
Outlying Islands·Tsuen Wan·Kwai Tsing
Sha Tin·Sai Kung