Guangxi Facts

Guangxi Location MapGuangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Called "Gui" for short, has a long history of more than 2,000 years. It belonged to the Yue region during the Spring and Autumn period, then was divided into tow counties named Guilin and Xiang in Qin Dynasty. It was first established as a province in Song Dynasty, got the name Guangxi in Qing Dynasty. In 1958, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region was set up.
Its location in southern China, along its border with Vietnam, and mountainous terrain, has made it one of the border frontiers of Chinese civilization. Even into the 20th century it was considered an open, wild territory. The current name "Guang" itself means "expanse", and has been associated with the region since the creation of Guang Prefecture in 226 AD.
The abbreviation of the province is Gui, which comes from the city of Guilin, the former capital, center of much of Guangxi's culture, politics, and history, and currently a major city in the autonomous region.
Provincial Capital: Nanning
Area: Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region covers about 23.67million square km, 2.5% of the total China's land,9th largest province.
Geography: Guangxi is the only province in West China that both an international border and a sea coast, serving as a juncition with the Beibu Gulf economical zone circle and the ASEAN Economic Circle, thus the reason Nanning was chosen as the permanent host city for China- ASEAN Expo.
Guangxi is a mountainous region. The Nanling Mountains are found in the northeast border, with the Yuecheng Mountains and Haiyang Mountains being its shorter branching ridges. To the north there are the Duyao Mountains and the Fenghuang Mountains, while on the southeast border there is the Yunkai Mountain. The highest point is Mount Maoer located in the Yuecheng Mountains, at 2141 m.
Population: At the end of 2006, Guangxi's population is 49.61 million, the population density is 208 every square kilometer. The region is inhabited majorly by 12 different groups, namely, Zhuang, Han, Yao, Miao, Dong, Mulao, Maonan, Hui, Jing, Yi, Shui and Gelao. The Zhuang nationality is taking up 1/3 of the total population.
Administrative Division: Guangxi is divided into fourteen prefecture-level cities, fifty-six counties, thirty-four districts, twelve ethnic autonomous counties and seven county-level cities.
Climate: Guangxi is located in low-latitude area in the southern China, linking with Yungui Plateau in its northwest, and Tropic of Cancer comes across its center. Generally, Guangxi lies in the subtropical monsoon climate zone. In China's administrative regions Guangxi is one of the hottest places with its annual average temperature is 20 degree Celsius.
With a subtropical monsoon humid climate, Guangxi enjoys abundant rainfall, long frostless season, long summers and short winters but fairly high temperature as the Tropic of Cancer cuts through.