tailor made tour

Ask a Question


I accept the Privacy Policy.

Questions & Answers

Which Countries Have Visa-free Entry to China?

Are you planning your next vacation to the vibrant and culturally rich land of China? Understanding the visa requirements can be a crucial aspect of your travel planning. Fortunately, China has relaxed visa policies for tourists from several countries, allowing them to explore its wonders without the hassle of obtaining a visa beforehand. Let's delve into which countries can travel to China without a visa in 2024.

Countries with Visa-Free Access

In 2024, China has announced a trial period for visa-free travel, extending to citizens from France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium and Luxembourg and Malaysia. This policy allows individuals holding ordinary passports from these nations to conduct business or explore China without the need for a visa, enjoying a stay of up to 15 days.

Mutual Visa Exemption Agreements

China has mutual visa exemption agreements with over 150 countries. However, these arrangements primarily apply to diplomatic or official passport holders. A select few countries have the privilege for their ordinary passport holders to visit China without a visa for up to 30 days. These countries include:

Region Countries

Armenia, Azerbaijan*, Belarus*, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia*, Moldova*, Russia*, San Marino, Serbia

Middle East Qatar, United Arab Emirates
Asia Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan*, Maldives, Singapore, Thailand, Tonga
Oceania Fiji
Caribbean Bahamas, Barbados, Grenada
south America Ecuador, Suriname
Africa Mauritius, Seychelles

Note: Countries marked with an asterisk (*) indicate that visa-free entry is applicable only when traveling in tour groups.

See the official full list: http://cs.mfa.gov.cn/zlbg/bgzl/lhqz/201202/t20120207_961630.shtml

Countries are Eligible for 24/72/144 hours Visa-Free Transit Policies

China's 24-hour visa-free transit policy for foreign nationals from various countries at all international entry points. According to this policy, passengers holding interline tickets with confirmed seats for transit to a third country or region via China by international flights, sea vessels, or trains are not required to apply for a visa if their stay period in China is less than 24 hours and they remain within the port of entry.

Travelers from 54 countries are currently eligible for the 72/144-hour transit visa-free policies which are effective at 31 ports in 23 cities of 18 provinces in China. These countries include:

Schengen States (25) Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, 
Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, 
Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Croatia
Other European countries (14) Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, 
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, Belarus
American countries (6) United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile
Oceanian countries (2) Australia, New Zealand
Asian countries (6) South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, Qatar

Countries Enjoy Special Regional Visa Exemption

♦59 Countries Travelers Visit Hainan Without a Visa

Since May 1, 2018, Hainan Province in China has implemented a visa-free policy for citizens from 59 countries. Travelers with regular passports from these countries can enter Hainan without a visa and stay for a maximum of 30 days. These countries include:

Region Countries
Asia-Pacific Australia, Brunei, India, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland,

Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino,

Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

North America

Canada, United States
South America Brazil
Middle East United Arab Emirates
Oceania Australia, New Zealand

♦Shanghai Cruise Visa-Free Transit

This policy allows foreign tour groups who are arriving in Shanghai by cruise ship to stay in the city and travel within the coastal provinces of China (including Beijing) for up to 15 days without a visa. This visa-free policy is applicable all countries but requires cruise ships to enter China in groups.

♦Guangdong Visa Exemption for Foreign Tour Groups from Hong Kong and Macau

The policy allows tourists from various countries to travel in the nine cities of the Greater Bay Area and Shantou city for a stay of up to six days without a visa by joining a tour group of a Hong Kong or Macau travel agency.

♦Guilin 6-day Visa Exemption for ASEAN Tour Groups

Guilin, a scenic city in Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region of China, offers a special visa exemption policy for tour groups from ASEAN (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam) countries. According to this policy, qualified ASEAN tour groups visiting Guilin can enjoy a visa exemption for up to 6 days.