tailor made tour

Ask a Question


I accept the Privacy Policy.

Questions & Answers

Historical and Cultural Cities in China

China is one of the four ancient civilizations in the world with the history of over 5000 years. Most of the famous China historic and cultural cities were the political, economical and cultural center in ancient China, or the key cities of important historical events. These of historical and cultural cities save a large amount of historical relics and revolutionary cultural relics and embody the long history, glorious revolutionary tradition and effulgent culture. To date, there are 120 cities were listed as historical and cultural city by the State Council. 

According to the characters, these historical and cultural cities can be divided into 7 categories:

1. Ancient capitals, which were the capitals in ancient China with historical relics and architectures: Xian, Luoyang, Kaifeng, Anyang, Nanjing, Beijing, Hangzhou, Zhenzhou, Jinzhou, Datong and so on.
2. Traditional style cities with complete architectural complexes of historical periods: Suzhou, Yangzhou, Shangqui, Pingyao, Chaozhou, Liaocheng and so on.
3. scenic spots, which with both ancient architecture and natural landscapes: Dunhuang, Taian, Guilin, Zaoqing, Chengde and so on.
4. Cities with local and ethnic characteristics: Lijiang, Lhasa, Karshi, Kuqa and so on
5. Modern and contemporary historic sites: Shanghai, Wuhan, Zhunyi, Yanan, Harbin
6. Cities with special functions: the salt city-Zigong, ceramics metropolis-Jingdezheng, the First Pass Under Heaven-Shanhai Pass.
7. General historic sites with scattered cultural relics all over the city and historical tradition: Xuzhou, Changsha, Liuzhou, Changshu. 

China Historical and Cultural Cities (by province)

Provinces Historical and Cultural Cities (Districtions, Countries)
Municipalities Beijing, Shanghai, Tianjin, Chongqing
Hebei Province Chengde City, Baoding, Handan City, Zhengding County, Shanhaiguan District
Shanxi Province Datong, Pingyao County, Taiyuan City, Xinjiang County, on behalf of the county, Qi County
Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region Hohhot
Heilongjiang Province Harbin
Jilin Province Jilin City, Ji'an
Liaoning Province Shenyang
Jiangsu Province Nanjing, Suzhou, Yangzhou, Xuzhou City, Zhenjiang, Changshu City, Yixing City , Wuxi City, Huai'an, Nantong City , Taizhou City
Zhejiang Province Hangzhou, Shaoxing, Ningbo, Quzhou City, Linhai City (county-level city hosted Taizhou), Jinhua, Jiaxing City
Fujian Province Quanzhou, Fuzhou, Zhangzhou City, Changting County
Jiangxi Province Jingdezhen, Nanchang, Ganzhou
Anhui Province Bozhou City, Shexian, Shou, Jixi County, Anqing City
Hubei Province Jingzhou, Wuhan, Xiangyang, Suizhou, Zhongxiang City
Shandong Province Qufu, Jinan City, Zoucheng, Qingdao City, Liaocheng, Linzi District, Tai'an City, Penglai
Henan Province Luoyang, Kaifeng, Shangqiu City, Anyang, Nanyang City, Zhengzhou City, Xunxian, Puyang City
Hunan Province Changsha, Yueyang City, Fenghuang County
Sichuan Province Chengdu, Zigong City, Langzhong, Leshan City, Dujiangyan City, Luzhou, Yibin City, Huili County
Yunnan Province Kunming, Dali, Lijiang, Jianshui, Weishan County, Qujing Huize County Municipality
Guizhou Province Zunyi City, Zhenyuan County
Tibet Autonomous Region Lhasa, Shigatse, Gyantse
Guangdong Province Guangzhou, Chaozhou City, Zhaoqing, Foshan, Meizhou City, Leizhou, Zhongshan City
Guangxi Province Guilin, Liuzhou, Beihai City
Hainan Province King Shan District, Haikou City
Shaanxi Province Xi'an, Xianyang, Hanzhong City, Hangcheng Town, Yulin, Yan'an City
Gansu Province Dunhuang, Zhangye, Wuwei, Tianshui City
Qinghai Province Tongren County
Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region Yinchuan
Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region Kashi City, Turpan, Turks County, Kuqa County, Yining City