tailor made tour

Ask a Question


I accept the Privacy Policy.

Questions & Answers

Macau Facts

Macau is one of the two Special Administrative Districts (another one is Hong Kong), locates on the west bank of the Pearl River Delta. This coastal city consists of Macau Peninsula, Taipa Island (Dangzai Island), Coloane Island and Lk Taipa Island City. Macau covers an area of 32.8 square meters with population up to 549,200, which make it one of the most densely populated cities in the world. Meanwhile, Macau is one of the World’s four Las Vegas”. Macau has developed in the past industries such as textiles, electronics and toys, while today has built up world class tourism industry with a wide choice of hotels, resorts, MICE facilities, restaurants and casinos. The economy grew rapidly and listed Macau one of the top affluent cities.
Because Macau just locates at the mouth of the Pearl River, it’s been called “Ou Mun” or “trading gate in local. It is believed that, fishermen from Fujian and farmers from Guangdong were the first known settlers in Macau. When the Portuguese reached Macau in the early 1550s, local folks also call this town “A Ma Gao” to worshiped the Goddess of Seafarers – Mazu (A-Ma). Portuguese adopted the name and its pronunciation, then it changes into the name “Macau” as the time goes by. Since 1557 the Portuguese obtained residency in Macau till 20th December, 1999, the P. R. China withdraws the sovereignty, western and eastern cultures coexistence in Macau, this traditional Chinese costal city and made it a unique historical and tourism city of the world.    
Area: 32.8square kilometers
Geography: Macau is located on the western bank of the Pearl River Delta, in Guangdong Province area, at latitude 22º 14' North, longitude 113º 35' East. Coastline stretches 44 kilometers. Its southern border is connected to Zhuhai Gongbei District by the Border Gate. Hong Kong is only 60km apart to the west. The Koloane Alto is listed as the highest point of the island, at the height of 172.4 meters.
Population: 549,200
Administrative Division: Macau Peninsula been divided into 5 Parishes, they are South Parish (Huadima Parish), St. Anthony Parish, the Grand Parish, Dewang Parish and St. Lawrence Parish. Besides, Macau outlying islands Taipa Island and Coloane Island belong to another 2 Parishes – Jia Moule Parish and St. Francis Parish.
Climate: The climate in Macau is fairly warm. It has a subtropical monsoon climate, but sometimes it will also show a temperate climate characteristic. The average temperature there is around 20and ranges from 16ºC to 25ºC. Humidity levels are high, especially in Spring and Summer. The average values vary between 73% and 90%. From May to October each year, this place will enter the typhoon season. Typhoon attacks frequently, especially during July and September.
Language: Official languages in Macau are Mandarin and Portuguese.

Recommended China Tours