tailor made tour

Ask a Question


I accept the Privacy Policy.

Questions & Answers

China High-speed Rail Planning Map

In July 2016, China's national development and reform commission, ministry of transport, China railway corporation jointly issued the "mid-long-term railway network planning" (hereinafter referred to as planning), outlined the grand blueprint of the "eight vertical and eight horizontal" high-speed rail network in the new period.

China High-speed Rail Development Goals

The term of this planning is from 2016 to 2025, and the long-term outlook is to 2030. 

By 2020, China high-speed railway network has reached 150,000 kilometers, with 30,000 kilometers of high-speed railways covering more than 80 percent of the major cities.

By 2025, the railway network scale will be up to 17,5000 kilometers, about 38,000 kilometers of which are high speed railway. The network coverage will further expand, and the network structure will optimize better to play a role of safeguard to social and economic development.

Looking forward to 2030, China high-speed rail network will basically implement the connectivity between internal and external, the multi-channel flow in inter-region, the link between provincial capitals through high-speed rail, the rapid transit between cities and the basic coverage of counties.

2030 China High-speed Rail Planning Map—8+8 HSR Grid

china high-speed rail network map

The "eight vertical and eight horizontal" high-speed railway network refers to the "eight vertical" channels along the coastal and Beijing-Shanghai, and the "eight horizontal" channels and land bridges along Yangtze river with inter-city railways supplemented.

The "eight vertical and eight horizontal" can realize a traffic circle within 1-4 hours between the adjacent large and medium-sized cities, and 0.5 to 2 hours in the urban agglomeration.

Eight Verticals (north-south direction)

1.  Coastal Passageway, a high-speed rail corridor passing along the eastern coast of China, starting from Dalian in the north to Fangchenggang in the south and passing through the cities of Qinhuangdao, Tianjin, Dongying, Weifang, Qingdao, Lianyungang, Yancheng, Nantong, Shanghai, Ningbo. Fuzhou, Xiamen, Shenzhen, and Zhanjiang.

2.  Beijing–Shanghai Passageway, a high-speed rail line connects China’s capital, Beijing and its metropolis, Shanghai, passing through cities of Beijing, Tianjing, Dongying, Weifang, Linyi, Yangzhou, Nantong and Shanghai. It connects the city agglomerations in north and east China as well as in the Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei region and Yangtze river delta.

3.  Beijing–Hong Kong (Taipei) Passageway, a high-speed rail line including two branches. One branch passes through cities of Bejing, Xiong’an, Hengshui, Heze, Shangqiu, Fuyang, Hefei, Jiujiang, Nanchang, Ganzhou, Shenzhen and finnally ends in Hongkong. The other branch splits at Hefei station, passing through Hefei, Fuzhou and then stops in Taipei.

4.  Harbin–Hong Kong (Macau) Passageway, a high-speed rail links Harbin in Heilongjiang Province and other major inland cities with Hong Kong and Macau via Beijing. It runs through cities of Harbin, Changchun, Shenyang, Beijing, Shijiangzhuang, Zhengzhou, Wuhan, Changsha, Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. One branch splits at Guangzhou station and stretches to Zhuhai and Macau.

5.  Hohhot–Nanning Passageway, a high-speed rail connects north China, central plains, central China and southern China. It runs from Hohhot in Inner Mongolia to Nanning in Guangxi, passing through cities of Datong, Taiyuan, Zhengzhou, Xiangyang, Changde, Yiyang, Shaoyang, Yongzhou, Guilin.

6.  Beijing–Kunming Passageway, a high-speed rail starts from Beijing to Kunming. The main route passes through cities of Xiong’an, Baoding, Xinzhou, Taiyuan, Xi’an, Chengdu and Chongqing. Apart from the main route, a branch line runs from Beijing to Taiyuan through Zhangjiakou and Datong, and a spur line from Chongqing connects to Kunming.

7.  Baotou (Yinchuan)–Hainan Passageway, a high-speed rail stretches from Baotou to Haikou(Sanya), passing through cities of Yan’an, Xi’an, Chongqing, Guiyang, Nanning, Zhanjiang. This passageway includes the line from Yinchuan to Xi’an and the high-speed railway around Hainan island. 

8.  Lanzhou (Xining)–Guangzhou Passageway, a high-speed rail connects northwest, southwest and south China, passing through cities of Lanzhou(Xining), Chengdu (Chongqing), Guiyang and Guangzhou. The passageway has two termini at Lanzhou and Xining which meet at Chengdu in Sichuan Province. From Chengdu, the corridor passes through Guiyang before ending at Guangzhou.

Eight Horizontals (east-west direction)

1.  Suifenhe–Manzhouli Passageway, a high-speed rail located in the northeast of China stretching from Suifenhe in Heilongjiang to Manzhouli in Inner Mongolia, passing through cities of Mudan River, Harbin, Tsitsihar and Hailar.

2.  Beijing–Lanzhou Passageway, a high-speed rail connects north and northwest China, running from Beijing through Hohhot and Yinchuan to Lanzhou.

3.  Qingdao–Yinchuan Passageway, a high-speed rail line starts from Qingdao in the coastal province of Shandong to Yinchuan in Ningxia.

4.  Eurasia Continental Bridge Passageway, a high-speed rail connects Lianyungang in Jiangsu Province to Urumqi in Xinjiang Province. The route passes through the cities of Xuzhou, Zhengzhou, Xi'an, Lanzhou, and Xining.

5.  Yangtze River Passageway, a high-speed rail that will run in an east-west direction largely parallel to the Yangtze River, connecting the cities of Shanghai, Nanjing, Hefei, Wuhan, Chongqing and Chengdu.

6.  Shanghai–Kunming Passageway, a high-speed railway line built in stages and completed on 28 December 2016, beginning in Shanghai and ending in Kunming, passing through cities of Hangzhou, Nanchang, Changsha, and Guiyang.

7.  Xiamen–Chongqing Passageway, a high-speed rail connects the west coast of the Taiwan Straits, South-central and south-western regions in China, stretching from Xiamen to Chongqing, passing through cities of Longyan, Ganzhou, Changsha, Changde, Zhangjiajie and Qianjiang. 

8.  Guangzhou–Kunming Passageway, a high-speed passage passes through cities of Guangzhou, Nanning and Kunming. It is made up of the existing Nanning–Guangzhou high-speed railway and Nanning–Kunming high-speed railway lines. It has been fully operational on 28 December 2016.

Recommended Tour You Might Like

12 Days China Golden Essence Tour